Tags

, , , , ,

Brioche pockets on a white and green platter, atop a tablecloth embroidered with pink flowers.

I’m eating one of these brioche pockets as I’m typing and I have to say my mouth is voting for these as an unequivocal success. I was a little apprehensive about trying this week’s brioche recipe, as I’ve been so happy with the one from Around My French Table, but I needn’t have worried. This brioche begins with a sponge and is a very active riser, so much so that the scraps of dough started to get puffy when I was trying to re-roll them. A few minutes in the freezer calmed them down considerably.

I made the primary filling in the recipe, because it sounded good and because it was a good fit with the asparagus soup that’s coming up in the French Fridays rotation later this month. All the unused asparagus stems went straight into the soup pot. The potato-goat cheese filling, the caramelized onions, and the asparagus spears were perfect with the light, buttery brioche. (I forgot the chives, even though there’s a huge patch of them right outside the back door. Oops.)

I baked half a dozen and the rest are hanging out in my parents’ freezer, though I suspect they may not last long – it would be easy to talk oneself into making one or two of these into a quick, indulgent dinner. As much as I enjoyed the hand-sized version, in future I think I’ll make them much smaller, as they’d make perfectly elegant little appetizers. I’m also looking forward to experimenting with fillings, both savoury and sweet (I’m thinking strawberries, next).

Sealing the brioche pockets

Here’s the episode of Baking with Julia that includes this recipe:
Baking with Julia, with Nancy Silverton

This week’s host is: Carrie. You can find everyone’s links here: Savoury Brioche Pockets

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

