Tags

, ,

Cutting the first slice

I used to think that my mother’s flaky, traditional dough would do for everything. Well, maybe not cheesecake. But, you know, possibly cheesecake, too. I have a more liberal view of pie crust than I once did. Pâte brisée and pâte sucrée were my gateway crusts, winning me over in both conventional and gluten-free forms. In fact, these two have threatened to supplant traditional pie crust altogether. Luckily, participating in TwD and FFwD should help me keep an open mind.

What would you say to a pastry that’s almost cookie-like in its sweetness and filled with a salty, savoury, cheese and prosciutto filling? (The answer is “Yes, please,” by the way.) This week’s dish isn’t the Pizza most of us are used to in North America. Instead, it’s a quiche-like affair, dense with Ricotta, Romano, and Mozzarella, rather than eggy. The 1/4 pound of prosciutto might almost overwhelm the filling, but its saltiness is perfectly in balance with the sweetness of the crust.

Finishing the lattice

I have a less active role in this group than I do in my French Fridays posts. My nieces do the hands on preparation and I act as a combination prep cook/advisor for them. This time, we had only an evening together to prepare this month’s recipes, so I pre-measured and chopped the bulk of the ingredients, allowing the girls to just get on with the actual baking.

J prepared the dough, then Kat took over for the filling. I was impressed by J’s light hand with the pastry and also by how precisely she cut out the lattice for the crust. Kat did a great job on the filling, too, which was tempting even before it went into the oven. I was pleased with how easily this dish came together. The worst part, really, was the waiting.

Luscious-looking, isn't it?

We had the pie with a green salad and steamed broccoli. There’s no need to serve this with dishes any more complex than that. It deserves to be the star of the show.

A slice, with a fork at the ready

This week’s hosts are: Emily and Raelynn. You can find everyone’s links here: Pizza Rustica

