Tags

, , ,

Making the rhubarb jam.

Ah, yet another wonderful day of baking with my family! Today we started by measuring out all the dry ingredients needed for the shortbread (flour, baking powder, and salt). After that, I measured out the butter, then cracked and separated the eggs. After whisking the dry ingredients together in a bowl, I put the butter in the mixer until it turned lighter and looked more creamy. I then proceeded to add the eggs and sugar to the butter. After letting that mixture get mixed together by the mixer I added the dry ingredients to make the dough. I then cut the dough in half, then wrapped the two pieces in saran wrap.

Grating the frozen dough to make the bottom layer.

Then I waited about an hour while the dough chilled in the freezer….. I then had the awesome task of grating dough with a cheese grater, which is something I never thought I would do, and spread the dough evenly on the bottom of a deep rectangle pan. After that, my aunt covered the cheese-grated dough with rhubarb jam, which she had made earlier this morning. I then proceeded to grate the other ball of dough and put that on top of the rhubarb jam.

Grating the top layer over the rhubarb filling.

Then came more waiting after we put the pan in the oven for an hour……. After taking it out of the oven, we immediately covered the top with icing sugar and then came even more waiting while the Hungarian shortbread cooled. Finally, after all the waiting and measuring and baking, I got to bite into the DELICIOUS Hungarian Shortbread! It was AMAZING!

The finished shortbread.

This week’s hosts are: Cher and Lynette. You can find everyone’s links here: Hungarian Shortbread

